The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico is an unincorporated territory of the United States, located in the northeastern Caribbean, east of the Dominican Republic and west of both the U.S. Virgin Islands and the British Virgin Islands. Puerto Rico comprises an archipelago that includes the main island of Puerto Rico and a number of smaller islands, the largest of which are Vieques, Culebra, and Mona.

The United States Census Bureau estimates that the population of Puerto Rico was 3,706,690 on July 1, 2011 and is projected to reach 4,024,000 by 2015.

Puerto Rico has one of the most dynamic economies in the Caribbean region. The most populous city is the capital, San Juan, with approximately 395,326 people. Other major cities include Bayamón, Carolina, Ponce, and Caguas. Of the ten most populous cities on the island, eight are located within what is considered San Juan’s metropolitan area, while the other two are located in the south (Ponce) and west (Mayagüez) of the island.

The official languages of the executive branch of the government of Puerto Rico are Spanish and English, with Spanish being the primary language.